The Democratic Alliance won ward 18 in the Rustenburg Local Municipality with whooping 71%. The by elections were held yesterday following the resignation of the ward councillor. They were contested by Joseph Haraba of the ANC; Martha Fransiena Elizabetha Lerm of the DA; Itemogeng Victor Molaodi of the EFF; and De Wet Nel of the Vryheidsront Plus (VF Plus). The ward was previously represented by the DA.