In the by-elections contested yesterday 21 April 2021, the African
National Congress (ANC) retained ten seats and won two seats over the Democratic Alliance (DA) and the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP). The IFP and DA both retained one seat won in the 2016 Municipal Elections. The Buffalo City Municipality ward 20
by-election scheduled for yesterday is pending the court order decision due to the councillor being expelled by the MEC. The average voter turnout was 40.65%.

Cecil Mphahlele in Ward 40 in the Madibeng Municipality – NW372. ANC retained the seat it won in the 2016 Municipal Elections, with 86.32% of the votes cast compared to 57.16% in the 2016 Municipal Elections. Voter turnout yesterday
was 25.44%